Community Support Key as School District of New Berlin Celebrates Class of 2018's Accomplishments

A total of 417 graduates crossed the stages at New Berlin Eisenhower and New Berlin West to receive their diplomas June 9, and with that began the next phase of their lives. The accomplishments of the Class of 2018, recognized in the weeks prior during Senior Honors Nights, are a reflection not only of the students’ personal successes in and out of the classroom, but of the collective work of the SDNB community’s dedication to ensuring dynamic learning experiences that prepare our students for post-secondary success.

“As part of our ‘Vision of the SDNB Graduate’, we rely on the support from our families, post-secondary partners, businesses, community organizations and public officials to ensure our students have the opportunities necessary throughout their years with us to develop the knowledge, skills and dispositions needed to adapt and thrive in tomorrow’s global economy,” SDNB Superintendent Joe Garza said. “The role the community plays when it comes to supporting our vision of college-, career- and life-ready graduates cannot be underestimated.”

More than $5.5 million in scholarships were awarded to the district’s Class of 2018, the most-ever in district history. More than 40 percent of district’s seniors were recognized at the recent honors nights for achievements aligned with the district’s overarching objectives.

A number of those recognitions are outlined below:

Students who have elected to enter the military were acknowledged for their decision to serve our country with a red, white and blue tassel presented by the American Legion Post 448. Among those recognized, Eisenhower student Aliyah Brown was honored for receiving a prestigious appointment to the United States Air Force Academy.

Wisconsin Higher Education Aid Board Scholarships
- Academic Excellence: Kyle Dorshorst and Shruti Narayan - Eisenhower; Kurt Davis and Samantha Lundin -West
- Technical Excellence: Erica Brautigam and Brian Lavin - Eisenhower; Alec Herpel and Derek Holstein - West

The local chapter of the Society of Women Engineers honors young women who have demonstrated an aptitude for success in STEM careers. The 2018 recipients earning a Certificate of Merit are as follows: Emily Cebasek and Kayla Kugel (West); Amanda Crosby, Radhika Dua, Hailey Fortier, Jordan Main, Joyeeta Nag and Anna McCormack (Eisenhower). Cebasek and Kugel also were recognized for their aptitude and aspirations in technology and computing by the National Center for Women & Information Technology.

Fine Arts Scholarships/Awards recognize students who exhibit outstanding creativity:
- Scholastic Art Awards: Lauren Demasek, Hailey Fortier, Kayla Juds and Madison Ranta (Eisenhower);
- Thespian of the Year Award: Brooklyn DiPietrantonio (West)

Success in the 21st century requires students not only be well educated but also technically capable within their chosen field. The following students were recognized for demonstrating excellence in technical coursework aligned to a specific area of interest and received Technical Honors:

New Berlin Eisenhower
Erica Brautigam (Manufacturing Processes)
Erica Buechel (Business Management)
Benjamin Chapin (Computer Science)
Thomas Counsell (Engineering)
Anthony Diedrich (Engineering)
Hailey Fortier (Engineering)
Lance Gebert (Engineering)
Andrew Hintzman (Engineering)
William Huang (Computer Science)
Ben Kizaric (Computer Science)
Andrew Lien (Computer Science)
Aaron Macdonald (Engineering)
Jordan Main (Engineering)
Maxwell Milkovich (Computer Science)
Cole Piche (Engineering)
Thomas Placzkowski (Engineering)
Justin Popp (Engineering)
Alicia Putney (Business Management)
Connor Risberg (Construction Architecture)
Matthew Satula (Computer Science)
Benjamin Schaefer (Computer Science)
Tate Seeley (Computer Science)
Ava Seifert (Business Management)
Theodore Spitz (Engineering)
Conrad Wiebe (Computer Science)
Michael White (Engineering)

New Berlin West
Brandon Antlfinger (Engineering)
Jacob Biese (Engineering)
Benjamin Blair (Engineering)
Daniel Bonin (Engineering and Computer Science)
Zachary Botic (Computer Science)
James Dembny (Engineering)
Brooklyn DiPietrantonio (Computer Science)
Madelyn Fritz (AV Tech & Communications)
Nathan Garris (Engineering)
Zachary Godec (Computer Science)
Sarah Hamilton (AV Tech & Communications and
Health Science)
Timothy Kunath (Engineering)
Sarah Liebherr (AV Tech & Communications)
Nathan Mueller (Computer Science)
Jared Nemith (Computer Science)
August Pfaff (Engineering)
Logan Podlesnik (Engineering)
David Schultz (Computer Science)
Hannah Sidesky (Health Science)
Ashlin Soto (AV Tech & Communications)
Eric Tutkowski (Engineering and Construction
and Architecture)

SDNB’s athletic programs provide opportunities for student to work toward common goals and compete both
as a team and individually to continually improve skills while developing a strong work ethic, leadership
capabilities and perseverance. This year’s WIAA Scholar Athletes of the Year were:
- Nate Artenian and Samantha Lundin at New Berlin West
- Bryce Miller and Hannah Plockelman at New Berlin Eisenhower

The district’s service programs provide an opportunity to demonstrate compassion and regard for the wellbeing
of others, important traits that support good citizenship. These students have demonstrated an aptitude
to become true changes makers in their communities.
- New Berlin Eisenhower National Honor Society Service Award: Kelly Gottschalk and Grace Statdfield
- New Berlin Eisenhower NHS Tutoring Award: Olivia Ciardo and Abigail Fredrick
- American Red Cross Blood Drive Scholarship: Kyle Dorshorst and Jenna Rogalinski, Eisenhower
- New Berlin West Humanitarian Award: Nirali Patel and Kurt Davis
- New Berlin West “West Way” Scholarship: Karlee Anderson

In addition to scholarship money awarded by the colleges and universities graduates will be attending in the
fall, as well as those provided by corporate and national scholarship programs, a number of local community
and/or alumni organizations, as well as individual families, supported our efforts to recognize excellence
through their own award or scholarship programs.

Community organizations and families who, through their own annual award and/or scholarship programs,
support our efforts to recognize excellence in our students:
- New Berlin Scholarship Fund
- WaterStone Bank Scholarship Program
- Haviraj Scholarship Fund (West)
- Mathnasium Scholarship
- Glenn R. Davis Foundation Scholarship
- Elizabeth Residence CNA Scholarship
- New Berlin Soap Box Derby Scholarship
- Jeff Lewiston Scholarship

School District of New Berlin Alumni who continue their class legacy through these scholarship funds:
- New Berlin West Class of 1983 Scholarship
- New Berlin West Class of 2011 Scholarship
- New Berlin West Class of 2016 Scholarship

SDNB students are also supported by those who remember their loved ones through a memorial scholarship
fund/program. Sponsors have the opportunity to set the selection criteria that is meaningful to them (i.e. merit
and/or need, school involvement, post-secondary plans, overcoming challenges, etc.):
- R. Daniel Nettesheim Memorial Scholarship (6 awarded)
- Mike Dillett Memorial Soccer Scholarship (4 awarded)
- April Chesny Memorial Scholarship
- Emily Brooks Foundation Scholarship
- Jeff Setz Memorial Scholarship
- Lila Draper Burton Scholarship
- Marilyn Largent Memorial Scholarship

“Our community’s willingness to support and recognize the varied and impressive achievements of our
students is a testament to their collective commitment to excellence and respect for the work our staff does on
a daily basis to ensure our graduates are positioned to successfully navigate their future paths,” Garza
added. “We could not do it without them.”

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.